Quarantine

There are many things I would like to say to the world, so I’ve changed mediums to be able to say what’s on my mind more freely. We are more at liberty to talk at greater length in this environment than we are on Facebook. My day is lingering into mid-afternoon, so I’ve got plenty of time to write to my heart’s content.

The book reviews I’ve gotten from Cindy J Smith and Ed Drury are just so delicious to savor. I’ve put a lot of myself into my writing, and it’s comforting to know that some of the people who have read my work understand exactly what it is I’m trying to say, that they perceive some of the finer points of what I’m insinuating with the candor of my writing.

My efforts have not all been wasted.

I think Ed is correct, that I’m a natural born observer of my world, and have thought a lot about the world I’ve observed, even when I was a slave to drugs and alcohol. There’s an old, retired professor here who has observed that I’m a natural born observer and thinker.

I think he’s got something there.

There is a joke that’s going around the ranks of the Baby Boomer generation, that if you think you remember the sixties, you weren’t really there. Well, I was there alright, and have congealed some impressions of the things I noticed about those days.

For one thing, the sixties were more like the early seventies than the sixties were, themselves.

I think Ed is also accurate in saying that many of the Flower Children didn’t fare as well as we did. Many of us submitted to being lifetime patients in the insane asylums or have taken their own lives long ago by now. What’s amazing is how many of us have triumphed over our excesses and have succeeded in surviving.

I’ve met so many of my fellow Flower Children in my travels, that I can’t help marveling at how I ever came out of the entire experience with relative sanity and affluence? Many of the people I knew in the institutions have simply been put out onto the streets, to sleep in the bushes, permanently estranged from the institutions by Reaganomics.

I’ve kept my eyes and ears open during the sixties and the seventies, in spite of my alcoholism and drug addiction, and have made some written observations of the world as I’ve known it. I found that I’ve suffered a lot more abuses growing up than I had anticipated, and have congealed the whole experience into one cohesive volume.

Memoirs of a Flower Child.

It may be that my Memoirs are my only significant work, but since most of my short stories are autobiographical and in the form of Memoirs, I can make a book out of most of them while only scrutinizing the titles of the stories, in most cases. The remainder of my work may happen to be extraneous, except for the little bit of fiction I’ve written.

Be that as it may, I’ve complied with my closest friend’s wishes, and have written a lot more work since I finished my Memoirs, since it was only my first book, and it was quickly followed by a whole series of works that are what they are.

I’m willing to comply with any reasonable request, and the request for more writing since the advent of my Memoirs, happen to be just that, by the one person here who has turned out to be my closest friend, here where I live.

She and I have had our trials and tribulations, with all the short stories that I’ve written over the past two years. She has been supportive and encouraging of my talent and ability unwaveringly, ever since I began asking her to read my work.

One doesn’t get that kind of friendship, and slough them off for any flippant reason whatsoever.

She continues to possess my unflagging respect and regard. There happens to be some tension between us at the moment. Our relationship should be redeemed by the time the quarantine of the house is finished.

At the moment, I’m taking some space between myself and my most avid reader, who happens to be a female octogenarian in residence here at the retirement community. I’ve checked the count on my documents folder in my laptop again today, and find I’ve already written 345 documents in two years time.

I’m still adding onto this count on a daily basis.

Writing is very therapeutic and cathartic thing for me.

I doubt that I would have had as much spiritual growth if I had not written all the work I’ve done since I’ve had this laptop. Some of the work I’ve put out has underscored the idea that whenever I’ve publish my own writing, the Indie authors on Facebook read it.

I seem to be well respected and thoroughly read among my colleagues.

I’ll have to take care of myself well enough that I’m avoiding any major misunderstandings with my most avid reader, as well as with the other residents in my little home. What I’m a little concerned with is how this story is going to go over, here at home?

I think it will help me to keep the company of a male octogenarian for awhile, to allow myself some space from the women for awhile. I shared lunch with the gentleman today, but have not had more opportunity to sit with him since, because of the quarantine.

Our community living situation here has developed two different strains of the flu since we live in a place where we share a common eating area. We are all quarantined to our individual rooms until further notice, so that the flu symptoms can die down among us.

Personally, I’m lucky to be healthy, myself.

I’ve been thinking about making some kind of paperback copy of some of my writing.

I’ve called Rick Carufel on the phone this afternoon, which was very entertaining to do. It was like we were old friends or pen pals, just talking live on the phone for the first time in our lives. We talked a long time.

I found he understands the whole publication market place well enough to make it his own, personal oyster. He is very knowledgeable about the entire online resources for publication. I’m going to have to raise the funds for the initial publication.

It would be great to have a limited edition of some of my work, renewable as needed, for availability to the general public at large, with my signature in them, on demand. I’ve already turned down some of the requests I’ve gotten for autographed books.

There seems to be a market for them alright. I’m uncertain exactly how that would work for me, exactly, but the idea of having a paperback copy of my work just seems like my best, next step in the process of self-publication.

Rick Carufel is versed in the online process of publishing and marketing paperback books, as well as doing the print on demand contracts with one of the publishing houses. There are various websites involved in the whole process, and the man seems to know exactly what site on the web does what.

Rick and I talked for about an hour and a half on the phone this evening. It was as if we’d known each other for a long time, but only through our writing. He was especially complimentary of my candor in my stories and my blog.

Rick had familiarized himself with quite a bit of my work, and he was complimentary.

He has well familiarized himself with all the in’s and out’s of doing the various stages of publishing for the various mediums available these days, and has a wealth of information about all the process involved with each format.

I wouldn’t know what websites to utilized to my best advantage, but Rick does, and I’d like to avail myself of his expertise. Publication on demand keeps me from having a storage problem of copies of each of the books to have to concern myself with, while I can use the few, rather carefully enough.

I have a lot of material to publish, and I’d like to start out small, to see how the project catches on. There’s no sense in throwing money at a project that will never get off the ground. It sounds like I’m well respected by the Indie writers on Facebook, and that I’ve earned people’s regard there.

I think Rick is going to prove to be a valuable asset to me in many ways. He’s out in the Mid-West, and had some drug problems when he was younger, just as I’ve had. It sounds very much like he doesn’t have a problem with alcohol, only some legal issues with a cocaine habit that caused some difficulties for him in the past.

I find him to be very articulate and knowledgeable about the whole publication process. He offered to edit and format my Memoirs for me, before he makes arrangements to publish it in paperback form.

I’m excited to think I could go to a bookstore to sit for a signing for people in the future. It seems a little bit like a pipe-dream for me, but I still want to try it anyway. I don’t have much storage space for paperback books.

I can’t figure out how to sign digital copies of any of my files for sale on Amazon. If I have a supply of paperbacks, I can place them in bookstores and libraries, if I can figure out some way to get transportation from point A to point B, to get the job done.

I’m going to have to study that process a little bit more, to come up with a plan to distribute paperbacks out in the community. It works for Danny Kemp, it’s likely to work for me, too. I have this idea that I’m working daily to make myself an outstanding writer in my own right, and the one thing I think I should do is make this whole process a reality somehow.

About geostan51

I'm a wordsmith and a craftsman. I've been known to hand crochet just about anything escept granny squares. I've got about twenty titles in my name on the Kindle Store at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

