English?

 I wonder what is happening to the English Language in America today? Since all we know about is the Yo’s, the Blood’s, and the Bro’s around here anymore, and how y’all is, and who was you is; well, this language of ours is going to the dogs – quickly. So many people have got to use profanity these days, as well as sacrifice the rules of grammar to express themselves anymore.

I’m not talking about the Afro Americans, who had their language ripped from them in an institution that was unconstitutional in the first place. That institution is something that’s killing America as quickly as our excesses in vulgarity are. In case you live up North, let me tell you, the Civil War is not over.

I’m a Yankee in the South, too.

And where has our etiquette gone? Is the only thing we have going for our writing anymore the shock value of our profanity?

Come on, folks. We’re the writers. We are supposed to be the guardians of a disintegrating language in this world. Since when does a writer, a wordsmith, a professional wordwright, have to use profanity in printed language in order to express what’s on their mind publicly?

OK, maybe I’m not the most refined person, in my public tact and etiquette on Facebook. Some of the other writers get offended at the idea that I’ve lost a lot of the people in my life, who were very near and dear to my heart. They have died, and I haven’t seen them since.

They died, and that’s it. They’re gone. Goodbye.

Also, having a chemical imbalance in my brain, I’ve known people who were very disoriented and monumentally unsuccessful at life. To me, those people are tragedies, not heroes. I’ve known people who will never be successful at anything, if they live a long time, which is not likely. They’re the kind of people I think of when I use the word zombies. It’s not an accolade.

And so many of you writers get so offended if anything is said online about a person’s faith, or believing in anything decent. I was a PK, a preacher’s kid. But I have a faith that works.

All of this obscenity on the TV, where people are just showing off how they can come up with the most shocking images on screen ought to be censored. But, Oh No! Everyone has got to have the right to express themselves on the TV and the internet these days. We can’t have any censorship in 2012. It’s an antiquated concept. It’s archaic. I’m only an old fuddy duddy.

I’m a young person where I live.

Have you all forgotten your parents, your grandparents, and your little children?

Where has decency gone in our society today? There’s all this vulgarity and obscenity all over the media. Don’t you care what your sons and daughters are learning about this life, when they sit idly in front of the TV and the internet, soaking up all this filth, from their toddler-hood?

The English Language is one of the richest, most creative languages the world has ever known. And the English Language is dying right before our eyes. It’s our responsibility as writers to defend our language, and utilize it, so that when our children grow up they will know how to say something decent to their elders and their juniors, when it comes their time.

Wake up, people.

I’m only in my early 60’s, living in assisted living with a hundred other residents, most of them easily old enough to be my parents. How long do you think I’d last in this environment if all I knew how to say was profanity? I would never have been accepted as a resident here in the first place. Since I need the services of a medications technician to get my medications accurately, being rejected by assisted living would have been a death sentence for me. I rely on assisted living to medicate me, since I no longer am able to do it for myself. My life and health depend on it.

Maybe you don’t like it that two of my closest friends are dead? They never come up to me, like they’re doing on that TV show on zombies, and visit me in any kind of stupor. Maybe you don’t like it that my dearest family members are all dead and gone? They never do anything gross, either. They’re just gone.

Maybe, if I’m really blessed, some of those people will visit me in my heart sometime, and tell me something wonderful. I hope so.

Well, there comes a time for a man to forget his sailor’s English, and start talking to other people with some decent language for a change. You don’t like it? Well, that’s just too bad. Wait until your own two year old starts talking like a sailor to her grandmother. Wait until your children can’t sleep at night, for all the horrors predators are doing to them, arranged through your internet connection when you’re not looking. Think I’m being hysterical? Grow up.

About geostan51

I'm a wordsmith and a craftsman. I've been known to hand crochet just about anything escept granny squares. I've got about twenty titles in my name on the Kindle Store at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

