Interview with Victoria Watson

What started you writing?

I’ve been writing since I was a child, I always wanted to create characters that were like the ones I enjoyed to read – like Mildred Hubble in the ‘Worst Witch’ by Jill Murphy. When I was fifteen, I began to write comedy pieces for a local football fanzine (True Faith) and then, aged 24, I entered a competition to review for a year with my local newspaper. Around that time, I graduated from Newcastle University as a Bachelor of Arts and then decided to take a Masters degree on in Creative Writing – that got me back into writing fiction. I’ve always been interested in people and I think that’s really important when you’re writing fiction.

What do your friends/family think of you now being a published author?

I think my parents take it in their stride. My boyfriend is very proud and my friends have been very supportive. It’s funny because I have friends online who can’t believe that the girl who tweets about Glee and cleaning up dust with a hairdryer is the same person who can write such twisted tales!

 

What kind of feedback have you had?

The feedback I’ve received has been very positive. I feel really great whenever I read a good review – it’s lovely to think that my words are inspiring such emotion in people. I look at Goodreads.com as well as amazon.com and amazon.co.uk and it’s great to see new reviews. People often tweet me (I’m on Twitter as @vpeanuts) and it’s really nice that people are enjoying what I do.
What’s your part of the world like and does this influence your writing?

I’m very lucky; I live in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in England. Newcastle is a city but it is about 20 minutes away from the coast and within an hour you can be in deepest, darkest Northumberland so I have the best of all worlds. I adore living here and frequently travel into Northumberland as it’s full of history and has so many picturesque places. I love where I live but my only complaint is that the weather isn’t as sunny or warm as I’d like. If I could, I’d choose to live in a remote village on the coast in Northumberland. My surroundings definitely influence my writing, as does the weather. That said, I have experimented by writing about other places in the world, like New York and the Middle East.
Which writers do you admire and read?

I’ve always adored Roald Dahl’s work, I don’t think anyone will ever replace him as my favourite author. The worlds he creates are just original and his characters are so well thought-out. I love all sorts of genres but I really enjoy reading fiction set in different areas of contemporary society – like India and Afghanistan, among other places. I also really love reading books that make social comment, so books like ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee and ‘The Crucible’ by Arthur Miller. Khaled Hosseini’s books always have some social comment as well as great writing, as does Chris Cleave’s books.
What’s your New Years resolution?

That’s a really good question. I haven’t really made one this year. I just want to continue writing and ideally would like to be healthier.
What’s coming next from you?

I’ve got three short stories in my head at the moment, partially typed so I need to get on with them! I’m going on my holidays shortly so once I come back, it’s full steam ahead! I’m also about a third of a way through my first novel so I need to crack on with that. As always, I will be blogging over at http://elementaryvwatson.wordpress.com and Close to the Bone (www.craigrobertdouglas.com).

 

You can find my current releases work at:

 

‘I Should Have Seen it Coming’ by Victoria Watson: http://amzn.to/opGd9M

‘Keeping Quiet’ by Victoria Watson: http://amzn.to/uQW6It

‘Inside’ by Victoria Watson: http://amzn.to/uiTukq

‘Home Tomorrow’ (contributing author): http://amzn.to/Axdx49

‘Off the Record: A Charity Anthology’ (contributing author): http://amzn.to/vbDHEY

‘Brit Grit Too’ (contributing author): http://amzn.to/yyo4OF

About geostan51

I'm a wordsmith and a craftsman. I've been known to hand crochet just about anything escept granny squares. I've got about twenty titles in my name on the Kindle Store at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

